I recently attended a teaching union CPD event for trainee teachers run by ATL.  The objectives of the day were designed to enable trainees to meet teacher standard 5 (TS5) primarily.  It was only a couple of days after this that I started to reflect on part 2 of the teacher standards – the part about the personal and professional conduct of teachers and the preamble.

Preamble

Teachers make the education of their pupils their first concern, and are accountable for achieving the highest possible standards in work and conduct.  Teachers act with honesty and integrity; have strong subject knowledge, keep their knowledge and skills as  teacher up-to-date and are self-critical; forge positive professional relationships; and work with parents in the best interests of their pupils.

Part Two: 3

Teachers must have an understanding of, and always act within, the statutory frameworks which set out their professional duties and responsibilities.

DfE, 2012: Teacher Standards

It occurred to me that my attendance at the ATL teacher training conference not only helped me to evidence TS5, but also the preamble section and TS-Pt2.3.  The commitment demonstrated by attending a full days training on a Saturday is clear evidence that the education of my future pupils is my first concern.  But not only that, the networking (AKA fun-filled chatter) that takes place at these events if fabulous, and very beneficial.  I was able to connect with similarly minded professionals who can share good practice and signpost me to experienced teachers willing to assist newcomers to the profession.

IMG_2965

I also realised that when that I have left the sunny grounds of Edge Hill, it is these very networks that will sustain the continuous professional development essential when working in education.  I have recently joined twitter and the ability to stay in contact with people that you may only know through professional meet ups is astounding.  I have linked with people across the world who freely share their experiences and strategies for teaching.

It is very difficult to evidence part 2 of the teacher standards as it is primarily based on the actions of the teacher and their moral values.  This is obvious to the professionals who are training and mentoring the trainees but participation in wider professional events and activities cannot hurt?

Personal Challenge:

Find creative ways to evidence all of Part 2.